DID you know that your deleted WhatsApp messages can be read even after you've wiped them?
Users of the messaging app should be aware that their embarrassing messages may not be permanently binned like they thought.
Whatsapp allows people to delete sent messages – which can be handy if you make a slip-up when chatting to friends or family.
Messages can be removed from both individual and group chats and the feature is available across Android, iOS and Windows phones.
It comes with the caveat that recipients are told you have pulled the trigger via a note that reads "this message was deleted".
However, it’s not as permanent as it seems – as the message is stored on its recipient's phone, and can be uncovered using WhatsApp's backup feature.
Read More on The Sun
I tried on the Zara viral dress dupes from Primark, here’s how it went
I was left with a hole in my hip after botched fat jabs – don’t make my mistake
The sneaky trick is easy to do and means your message faux pas can be seen even if you delete them.
To read a deleted message all anyone has to do is uninstall WhatsApp and then install it again from your device's app store.
Once they’ve logged back in, they will be given an option to restore chats from backup.
Simply select the restore option and the chats will be restored, including deleted messages, which are shown as if they were never removed.
Most read in Tech
Asteroid twice the size of Empire State Building to soar past Earth tomorrow
Elon Musk 'to serve as Twitter CEO' after firing top execs
Billions of Android users warned over dangerous mistake – don't get caught
You've been using WhatsApp wrong for years – three hacks you need to know
It comes as Whatsapp users are being urged to activate an important new setting.
Earlier this year, WhatsApp added a new feature called Disappearing Messages.
These are texts that automatically self-destruct after a certain period of time.
And earlier this month the app released a new clever voice note trick.
Previously it was only possible to listen to a voice message within a chat.
And if you left that chat, the voice message playback would cancel.
Now WhatsApp has tweaked it so that voice playback is universal.
So if you start listening to a voice message in one conversation, you can leave that chat and talk to someone else.
Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks
Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…
- How to delete your Instagram account
- What does pending mean on Snapchat?
- How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
- How to drop a pin on Google Maps
- How can I change my Facebook password?
- How to go live on TikTok
- How to clear the cache on an iPhone
- What is NFT art?
- What is OnlyFans?
- What does Meta mean?
Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.
We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]
Source: Read Full Article