Millions of iPhone users told to turn key feature OFF – ignoring it could cost you | The Sun

IPHONE users are being urged to turn off a key feature to avoid incurring additional upgrade costs further down the line. 

The feature, called Live Photos, captures a mini video every time you snap a photo with your iPhone. 

While this can be useful for snapping the perfect shot, it takes up way more storage on your device than a standard still photo does.

If left on, this could see you having to fork out for a new iPhone upgrade with more storage in the near future, invest in more pricey cloud storage, or even delete photos to free up space.

What are Live Photos?

With Live Photos, your iPhone records what happens 1.5 seconds before and after you take a picture.

Read more on iPhone

I found a SECRET iMessage code that unlocks a hidden iPhone feature

Why your iPhone always charges so slowly – three BIG mistakes you’re making

You take a Live Photo just like you do a traditional photo, so some people might not even realise they are using the feature. 

The benefit of Live Photos is that since each shot is recorded as a mini video, so you can go through the individual frames to select a different key photo and get the perfect shot.

You can also add fun effects, such as the bounce or loop effects, and edit the Live Photo before you share them with your family and friends.

Despite their perks, Live Photos have a major downside – they take up a lot of storage space.

Most read in Tech

BLOWN AWAY

Heatwave warning for electrical fan users – 6 BIG mistakes you're making

GADGET CLEANSE

Warning for MILLIONS of iPhone owners to 'remove malware' right now

APPLE JUICED

Why your iPhone always charges so slowly – three BIG mistakes you're making

OH SNAP

Snapchat login DOWN as tens of thousands of users say app ‘won't log me in'

And since iPhones don’t support storage expansion in the form of memory cards, they can easily fill up – especially if you own one of the lower-priced devices.

Higher storage options significantly raise the costs of an iPhone, so upgrading doesn’t come cheap.

For example, the cheapest and thus lowest storage option for the latest iPhone 13 stands at £779.00 SIM-free for 128GB.

The next model up, which boasts 256GB of storage, comes in at £100 more, costing £879.00. However, if you’re in need of the highest 512GB option, that’s going to set you back £1,079.00. That’s a whopping £300 than the lowest capacity option.

So if you're not using Live Photos, it’s worth turning off the feature to optimise your iPhone's storage space and save yourself some serious cash later down the line.

How to turn off Live Photos

To avoid filling up your iPhone’s internal storage and being faced with extra costs in the future, simply turn Live Photos off.

To do this, Apple Support explains that you simply need to navigate from the Camera app and tap the Live Photos button to turn the feature off. A slash through the Live Photos button means that the feature is off.

However, this won’t keep the feature turned off permanently, as the Camera app turns Live Photos on automatically when loaded up again. 

To keep Live Photos off head over to your phone’s Settings app, tap Camera’ then the ‘Preserve Settings’ option. Then simply make sure that the switch next to Live Photo is turned on.

Read More on The Sun

I found mystery cash under my floorboards – there could be a chilling twist

Beauty fan raves about Primark tool that makes putting lashes on ‘much easier’

If it’s too late and your iPhone storage is already full, don’t panic – there are ways to fix it.

Check out our iPhone storage guide that details three nifty tricks to free up some space so you can get snapping again in no time.

  • Read all the latest Phones & Gadgets news
  • Keep up-to-date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]

    Source: Read Full Article