Google Chrome hack EVERYONE needs to know about could save you from embarrassment

GOOGLE Chrome has a clever hack that could save you from embarrassment.

It's a way to delete very recent history, which can stop nosy people snooping on your activity.

Deleting Google history usually involves getting rid of an entire day – or lifetime – of usage.

But Google Chrome is changing that with a 15-minute deletion window.

The feature was recently added to Android, but is also available on other devices.

That way you can quickly scrub whatever you've just been doing.

It could be a lifesaver if you're searching for a gift for someone, looking up a private medical condition, Googling how to make your housemates clean better, or something else entirely.

If you've got an Android phone, you need to update to the latest version of Android and Google Chrome.

Most read in News Tech

FRESH APPLE

Glimpse of the iPhone 14 MONTHS before launch 'revealed' online

SOUND OFF

Music fans DELETE Spotify over Joe Rogan row – but everyone is saying same thing

TRICKY!

WhatsApp typing hack 'you probably didn't know will make your pals jealous'

APPDATED

37 NEW emoji coming to iPhone – including pregnant man and two VERY naughty icons

Then open the Google app on your phone and tap on your profile picture in the top-right corner.

This will take you to Settings where you can choose the option to Delete Last 15 Minutes.

So is there an equivalent on desktop and iPhone?

On iPhone, it works in a similar way – but with the Google app instead.

Simply open the Google app (not Chrome), go into Settings and look for the option to Delete Last 15 Min.

It's a fairly new feature, so make sure you've updated to the latest version of iOS.

And ensure you're using the most recent Google version on the App Store.

On Chrome for iOS, you're still limited to an hour of deletion at a minimum – unless you want to scrub specific items manually.

It also works on the desktop browser.

Go into Settings via your profile picture, then choose Delete Last 15 Minutes.

It's as simple as that.

Of course, an easier option may be using Incognito Mode.

But Incognito Mode leaves you signed out of all accounts while using it, so it's not always ideal.

Nevertheless, Incognito Mode is available on Chrome across all platforms – so it's an option if you need it.

  • Read all the latest Phones & Gadgets news
  • Keep up-to-date on Apple stories
  • Get the latest on Facebook, WhatsApp and Instagram

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to get your deleted Instagram photos back
  • How to track someone on Google Maps
  • How can I increase my Snapchat score?
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How can I do a duet on TikTok?
  • Here's how to see if your Gmail has been hacked
  • How can I change my Amazon Alexa voice in seconds?
  • What is dating app Bumble?
  • How can I test my broadband internet speed?
  • Here's how to find your Sky TV remote in SECONDS

In other news, Google Chrome users have been urged to delete their browser.

Facebook recently rebranded to Meta.

Check out the best iPhone 13 deals.

And take a look at your hidden Facebook rejection folder.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at [email protected]

    Source: Read Full Article